Mawi honoured to take Beyonce’s place

KUALA LUMPUR — Pop megastar Mawi said he was delighted to be performing in place of US singer Beyonce Knowles, who inexplicably postponed her concert at the Bukit Jalil National Stadium tomorrow.

Calling the opportunity ‘an honour’, Mawi said that he would try to carry Miss Knowles’ songs to the best of his ability, and that he would strive to “bring the Beyonce experience to her fans” in any way possible, including dressing up like her.

MAWI: "You won't be able to tell the difference."

MAWI: "You won't be able to tell the difference."

“When organisers Marctensia approached me to do this, I was shocked, naturally,” said the lad, who rose to instant superstardom after winning the Akademi Fantasia talent search reality show a few years ago. “I thought, they’ve got to be kidding — I mean, Miss B”s music is so different from the kind I usually make. And our performances differ so much.

“But I figured, this was a rezeki to me, and it’s not good to ‘tolak rezeki’ (say no to good fortune), so I took it as a challenge and said ‘yes’.”

Mawi added that he’ll be busy rehearsing for the show the whole day today.

“I’ve got to not only memorise the lines from Beyonce’s latest songs, including that fabulous hit, Halo, but all her dance steps as well,” he said, looking concerned. “But I believe my experience in Akademi Fantasia has taught me how to prepare for a live show in the shortest time. I’ll be ready tomorrow,” as he twirled and shook his booty suggestively.

When asked how he would be dressed and made up to look like Miss Knowles, Mawi said that he wasn’t worried.

“Beyonce and I already share the same facial structure,” he said, pointing to his cheekbones and chin. “And our eyes are equally attractive — although I might add that mine are more luscious.

“So all it takes for me to flawlessly transform into her is a good wig, massive waxing and a hot costume. I mean, I’ve been waiting for the opportunity to show off my delicious cleavage and smooth, silky legs,” Mawi said, winking, probably hinting to his Silky Men spokesperson deal.

When asked what his wife Ekin thought of the Beyonce concert, Mawi said that she was very supportive.

“Initially Ekin was quite sad with her not coming, being a big Beyonce fan and all. But when she heard the news that I was taking the spot at the concert tomorrow, she was ecstatic, almost hysterically happy.

“In fact, I believe she’s still laughing now.”

Catch Mawi, as Beyonce, at the Bukit Jalil National Stadium tomorrow. Gates open at 6pm.

6 Comments

Filed under National News, Showbiz, World News

6 responses to “Mawi honoured to take Beyonce’s place

  1. The resemblance between the two of them is uncanny.

    “In fact, I believe she’s still laughing now.” –> Ha ha ha!

  2. bung mokthar

    Muka ada serupa jugalah. Miss Mawi memang hebat. After winning the AF even with suara sumbang-sumbang sikit, he rose to stardom in malaya only. In east malaysia he is just a boredom and miss nobody. Beyonce will never step in malaya soil for she is afraid of being murdered using guns and C4. Even The Nanny will not go. Let alone Hannah Montana.

  3. HAHAHAHAH! I cannot imagine Mawi doing Beyonce’s routines. HAHAHAHAH!

  4. curry

    nicely written indeed. hahahaa !

  5. Lufkin

    OMG this is hilarious!! hahahahaha!!!
    aduh beyonce..

  6. Pingback: Happy 47th birthday, Malaysia!

Leave a comment